Texas Student Permit
The State of Texas issues Instructions permits, also known as Learner Permits, which allows individuals, no younger than 15 years of age, to have the opportunity to drive with a licensed driver, occupying the front seat and is 21 years of age or older. Upon completion of the first 3 days if classroom instruction, the student is eligible to apply for a permit. The student may take the permit test at Street Smart or at the DPS. Once the student has the permit, the student may start scheduling drive times and drive with the parent.
Other requirements are as follows:
- MINIMUM AGE OF 15 YEARS OLD
- IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS (This includes an official birth certificate an official Texas ID card, or a valid passport.)
- SOCIAL SECURITY CARD
- VERIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE AND ENROLLMENT FORM FROM THE APPLICANT’S HIGH SCHOOL (If the applicant is over 18 years old or has completed high school, this form is not required.)
- D964 CERTIFICATE (Once all requirements are completed, the School will issue this certificate to the student.)
- PARENTAL AUTHORIZATION SIGNATURE (If an applicant is over 18 years old, a parental signature is not required.)
- PASS WRITTEN AND VISION EXAMINATIONS
- PAYMENT OF REQUIRED FEES
- TEXAS RESIDENCY VERIFICATION (If the applicant is under 18 years old, the parent must show two acceptable proofs of residency. If the applicant is over 18 years old, the applicant must show two acceptable proofs of residency.)
- COMPLETION OF REQUIRED FORMS AVAILABLE AT THE DPS OFFICE.
Texas Driver’s License
As of March 1, 2010 applicants 18-24 must complete an approved Adult Driver Education course and a driving skills test to receive a Texas Drivers License.
In accordance with State Law all Teen Driver Educationstudents applying for a driver’s license must continue into phase two of the Texas Graduated Driver License Program (this is not the same as the phase two course in Teen Driver Education). This program was introduced into legislation in 2001 and later revised in 2009. The requirements amended for Phase Two GDL became effective September 1, 2009.
This phase restricts the driving privileges of minors during the first years of holding their license. To qualify for the issuance of this license a student must have already held their learners permit for a minimum of six months, must be at least 16 years of age, and have already satisfactorily completed both phases of the Teen Driver’s Education Program (Classroom and In-Car instruction). Note that completion paperwork and certificates will be available for pick up the Wednesday after the student’s final driving test with Street Smart Driving School. These documents MUST be retrieved in person. Parents also must complete the Parent Guide 30 hours prior to the student becoming eligible to receive their license(20 hours in the day, 10 hours at night). Other restrictions included in the Provisional License are as follows:
- Only one other passenger under the age of 21 (who is not a family member) may accompany the driver with vehicle is being operated
- Person may not operate vehicle from 12 – 5 am (exceptions with employment, school-related business, and emergencies)
- No wireless devices may be used during operation of the vehicle (except in an emergency)
Other requirements are as follows:
- DE-964 certificate (showing completion of Driver Education)
- Present proof of identity and social security number
- Verification of Attendance and Enrollment in School (TLDR form GEA-043R93)
- Proof of Texas vehicle registration and liability insurance (if you own a vehicle)
- Parental authorization signature
- Payment of required fees
- Pass written and vision examinations
- Completion of required forms available at DPS office
For more information and questions you may visit www.txdps.state.tx.us
Get in touch with us!
For assistance and for more information, please don’t hesitate to give us a call at 281-338-6565 or send us a message at email@example.com for more information.